Home > Editorials, Site Specific > A Look Back: Quarter 1 (Jan. 2010 – Mar. 2010)

A Look Back: Quarter 1 (Jan. 2010 – Mar. 2010)


Before you freak out and look away, this isn’t an in depth review of EVERY game I played this year. It’s more along the lines of a collection of thoughts, so to speak, of some of the good and bad games I played, and if said-game met my expectations or not. And not all of these games are 2010 releases, either. So let’s have a look at January, shall we?

January 2010

I kicked off the year with Darksiders. I really enjoyed this game, and think in the overall scheme of the year, it will be overlooked. But if you haven’t played it, and you enjoy hybrid games (in this case, God of War meets Zelda with some other elements mixed in), this is a must play.

Late January brought me Batman: Arkham Asylum and Assassin’s Creed 2. Both are excellent games. I’m not a huge superhero game fan, but Batman blew me away with top notch voice acting, and an amazing game world to explore. Assassin’s Creed 2, I enjoyed the first 10 hours, but after that, it began to slip my attention span due to a flat story I couldn’t get into. And while the enviroments were gorgeous and fun to explore, it was irritating when you tried to do one thing, and ended up diving off a rooftop into a haystack you didn’t know was even there.

Febuary 2010

Febuary consumed me with more games than I could possibly handle, but somehow I did. The beginning of the month I rented MAG, a game I was originally excited about, until I played the beta. The game itself was not much different. I was let down, but thankfully, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 was right around the corner.

I dipped my toes into Dragon Age: Origins, and while I didn’t get to get the full experience, it almost made me cry in the first half hour, which is no small feat. I played through Aliens vs. Predator, all three campaigns, and was let down by the multiplayer. I really enjoyed the Alien campaign, more than I thought I would, loved the Predator campaign, and lightly enjoyed the Marine campaign. The latter was tense, but overall nothing really unique enough to get excited about.

Rogue Warrior. Ugh. I rented it because I heard it was SO bad. And yes, yes it was. Thankfully, Heavy Rain came out to relieve me. That is an experiance every PS3 owner should play through at least once. It’s a game you play with no spoilers and just let it unfold.

March 2010

ATV's CAN be fun in a game...


Battlefield: Bad Company 2 came out to kick the month off, and I had two copies preordered. It was a game me and my wife played together with another clan mate, and had a blast. A shooter you could play online, and have a role, wether you rushed in with guns blazing like me, or sat back and recon’ed the battlefield like my wife, everyone had a place. It’s also one of my top games of the year.

Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing proved to me finally that you didn’t have to be Nintendo to make a decent kart racer. Game was a lot of fun. And I actually completed God of War 3. Was highly let down. Despite knowing I hated the writing in the series (the lore of the world is awesome, but the script is atrocious), I felt they expanded the scale of the world itself, but forgot that the fun of the franchise is the mindless combat.

I tried White Knight Chronicles, and it didn’t connect with me in the slightest. Granted, I didn’t give it much of a chance, but I had so much going on that time, I just brushed it aside. Just Cause 2 was a highly addictive sandbox game, but it missed out by not having multiplayer. That is one single-player only game that I’d love to see online.

Conclusion
2010 started off for me with a lot of games. Most I enjoyed, but a few were big misses. Granted, one of those, I brought upon myself (Rogue Warrior), but some of those I had promise for (MAG). Stay tuned for the second part in the series of editorials looking back at 2010.

– Sobær

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

