Home > iOS, Reviews > Review: Doodle Farm [iOS]

Review: Doodle Farm [iOS]


Chicken + Worm = Nothing. 😦

Doodle God was my introduction to this type of game. It made me feel smart, and scratched the creative side of my brain. You started with just a few elements, like Water and Fire, and began creating some very interesting things, and it all made sense as you did. So many times I would beam proudly at my created tile and immediately began thinking of things I could make by combining it with something else. Enter Doodle Farm.

Technically, Doodle Devil Episode 1 was next, and while it was still good, it didn’t have that ingenious charm that Doodle God had. Doodle Farm tries to establish an uber-charm with animals that still doesn’t replace the genuine creativity of it’s predecessors.

This is what you start with..

In these “Doodle God” games (and don’t be confused, there are hundreds of games with Doodle in the title that have nothing to do with this series, though this series is not the first to use “Doodle” in the title), you are tasked with combining elements. In this case, it is species of animals you are combining, in hopes of creating some other animal. You open a “group”, which acts like a category. In the group are “elements”, or in this case animals. Why they didn’t change the name from element to animal is beyond me.

A shot of both groups open

With both groups open, you simply drag an animal over to another animal. They shake violently if there is no reaction, or you are presented with a new animal to now work with. It’s quite simple. In the original Doodle God, you had this sense of discovery with the game, but with animals, to me at least, it just didn’t have any kind of effect on me. I was just dragging one to another idly, hoping for a reaction, unlike Doodle God, where I thought out my combinations much more.

A change in the series they should patch into older games are the borders. Each element has a different type of border depending on how useful it is at that given time. A thick black border means it will react with something. A very light border means it is the final product and won’t react further. And a dotted border means nothing else will react with it at that moment, but it will react with something later on. Of course, that’s on “casual” mode, which is the default mode.

Picking the game up after setting it down for an hour will make you forget what you’ve done, and what you were in the middle of. The game has a log of previous reactions, but I never found that helpful. After creating something, you now get a tab to take you to a Wikipedia page about that animal. A neat inclusion, and something maybe I would like in the earlier games, but I never once combined an animal and thought, “Hmm, a rooster. I think I would like the read about rosters now!”.

luv teh txts bout aminals!!1

One thing that still remains is the caption about each created animal. I read every one of them, and while not as many of them were as funny as the original, I still laughed a few times.

In the case of the Doodle Farm app, I do not recommend it to anyone, but instead, will redirect you to Doodle God. A much more impressionable game that I couldn’t put down when I had bought it. Even fans of the originals should steer clear of this one. I haven’t lost all faith in the series, but each game has improved in little, technical ways, but has lost some of the charm in translation.

Score: D

– Sobær

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

